Whole slide scanners and the files they write
| Manufacturer | Current models | Slide capacity | Native format | Other output | Opens in SlideScope |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Leica Biosystems (Aperio) source | GT 450 DX, GT 450, GT 180 DX, CS5 DX | GT 450: 450 slides; GT 180: 180; CS5: 5 | SVS | DICOM option | Yes |
| Hamamatsu (NanoZoomer) source | S360MD, S540MD, S20MD, S60v2 | S540: up to 540; S360: 360; S60v2: 60 | NDPI | Not stated | Yes |
| 3DHISTECH (PANNORAMIC) source | 1000 DX, 480, 250 FLASH III | 1000 DX: up to 1,200; 480: 480; 250 FLASH III: 300 | MRXS | DICOM | Yes |
| Philips source | SG300, SG60, SG20 (Ultra Fast Scanner previously) | SG300: 300; SG60: 60 | iSyntax | DICOM (JPEG or JPEG XL) on SGi models | iSyntax: no. DICOM: supported, SGi output not tested |
| Roche (VENTANA) source | DP 600, DP 200 | DP 600: 240; DP 200: 6 | BIF | TIF, DICOM | Yes |
| ZEISS source | Axioscan 7 | 12 or 100 | CZI | DICOM, OME-TIFF export | Yes |
| Evident (Olympus) source | SLIDEVIEW VS200 | Up to 210 | VSI | TIFF, DICOM | VSI: no. TIFF and DICOM: yes |
| Grundium source | Ocus 20, Ocus 40, Ocus M20/M40, Ocus R | 1 to 600 | SVS, TIFF, SZI | DICOM export | SVS and TIFF: yes. SZI: no |
| Huron Technologies source | TissueScope iQ, VX504, HT540 | iQ: 400; VX504: 504; HT540: 540 | Pyramidal BigTIFF | DICOM compatible | Yes |
| KFBio source | KF-PRO 005 to 400 | 5 to 400 | KFB (brightfield), KFBF (fluorescence) | SVS, TIFF, DICOM; QPTIFF for fluorescence | KFB: no. SVS, TIFF, DICOM, QPTIFF: yes |
| Motic source | EasyScan, FlexScan | Varies by model | Not stated | DICOM, SVS, JPG | SVS and DICOM: yes |
| Quanterix (formerly Akoya) source | PhenoImager HT | 80 | QPTIFF, IM3 | TIFF, JPEG | QPTIFF: yes. IM3: no |
"Opens in SlideScope" is by format. The test corpus behind our format benchmark holds Aperio SVS, Hamamatsu NDPI and 3DHISTECH brightfield MRXS among others; SVS and TIFF files written by other scanners are untested, and MRXS is read as a 2D RGB image, which suits brightfield rather than fluorescence scans. Capacity is the vendor's maximum for standard 1×3" slides. 3DHISTECH lists the PANNORAMIC 1000 DX as "up to 1,200" on its main site and 840 on its partners site. "Not stated" means the vendor's pages did not say, not that the option does not exist.